Historic Preservation Commission

  • Tommy Wixon
  • Liz Ford
  • Michele Lee
  • Chris Wiggins
  • Richard Lucas
  • Michele Coats
  • Barry McIlwain
  • Martin Hegwood
  • Kevin Hall 


The City's Historic Preservation Commission is comprised of eight individuals. The commission makes recommendations for surveys, nominates projects for National Registry, and assists building owners with historic tax credits.


Since 1986, the City of Pascagoula has been a Certified Local Government (CLG) through an agreement with the National Park Service (NPS) and the Mississippi Department of Archives and History (MDAH). As a CLG, the City and the Historic Preservation Commission diligently work to promote historic preservation at the grassroots level. The City of Pascagoula is one of the oldest CLG communities in the nation. For more information on this program, please visit the NPS CLG program website.

Preserve America

The City of Pascagoula is also designated as a Preserve America Community. The Preserve America Program encourages communities to celebrate their heritage, utilize historic assets for economic and community revitalization, and support historic education and heritage tourism programs. With this title, the City has received White House recognition, a Preserve America Community road sign, and is eligible for Preserve America grants among other benefits.

Historic Districts

The City of Pascagoula has three Historic Districts:

National Register of Historic Places in Pascagoula

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of our country's historic buildings, districts, sites, structures, and objects worthy of preservation. It was established as part of the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966 and is overseen by the National Park Service.

To view the City’s individually listed homes and commercial properties listed on please follow the link National Register of Historic Places in Pascagoula

Additional Links